The Lousy Truth about Attention and Good Counseling

Scratching your head about how this whole school counseling thing plays out? Feeling like a lousy counselor? Stay tuned . . .

Let me set the scene: End of the school day. Me, teaching (aka tap dancing to keep everyone focused, on task, and in their own space) a lesson on self-regulation to 14 kids, in grades 1-5, in our PBiS Targeted Program. Two paraprofessionals, who deserve to be nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize, providing back-up. Did I mention that this class/group is scheduled at the very end of the day in a behavioral program?

All things considered it was going quite well. I was especially impressed with the attentiveness of one particular kid. His face showed me that he was thinking deeply, and his hand was raised for most of the class. He’s not the most energetic guy, and his version of raising his hand was more like resting it on his head, but he had an answer every time I called on him. Granted, I was having to call on some others more frequently, because for a couple of them not being called on is something akin to being dipped in boiling oil, but this guy was more focused and engaged than he had ever been!

Oh, he was engaged all right! At the end of the class he said to one of the paraprofessionals, “That whole time I only caught one lice!” That hand on his head was not raised, it was hunting! He wasn’t thinking deeply about the topic, he was strategizing about how to capture his prey!

Look! If you don’t have enough of the real thing at school, you can get yourself a stuffed louse. Now THERE’S a holiday gift idea for your favorite educator!

Humility check for the day: Despite all my explosive tap dancing, brilliant lesson design, and fascinating presentational style, in a face off with a louse, I lose! So, if I’m less than a louse, does that mean that I’m a lousy counselor, or is “lousy counselor” too complimentary? And does picking lice off of your head mean that you actually are self-regulating?

Based on this and the ongoing battle with the rodents who seem to have decided that my dollhouse is the Ritz-Carlton, I’m thinking of changing the title of this blog from School Counseling by Heart to Mice, Lice, and Advice. What do you think?

Signing off from Vermin Central. So sorry if your head is now itchy!

You might also be interested in:

The Curse of the Mouse Continues

7 responses

  1. That’s either really funny or I’m just SO tired I’m giddy…..omg…..what a story! And SO creative …. lousy ….really, that CRACKS me up!!! You might need the book Yikes, Lice! for your next lesson with that itchy little fella. Thanks for recognizing the AmAzInG Nobel Prize-worthy aides . . . and for making me smile . . . and laugh. Once when I asked if anyone knew what “little white lies” were, a child responded all in one breath: Well, they’re bad because if you get them you get sent to the nurse and then you have to go home because you have them and they’re bad and then you can’t come back to school until they’re gone. I’ve NEVER asked that question AGAIN! The things we do for love….

    Sending smiles!

  2. omg I am dying laughing over this. My school friends and I joke every year that we should write a book because no on would ever believe our stories. Your story definitely would “make the book” as we say! Happy Thursday!

  3. Pingback: You Brought WHAT to School???!!! | School Counseling by Heart

Leave a comment